Rod recommendations for Stella 8000HG

Hey guys, I'm quite new to fishing and would like to get some rod recommendations. The missus bought me the Stella 8000HG spooled with the new shimano Ocea 8 PE3 for my birthday and was wondering what rod I should pair it up with. I usually do bottom bashing near Mindarie and have a budget of 300-500 for the rod.

There was a similar post to this that I discovered on the forum but it was dated 2013 so was wondering if there are any new rod recommendations. Cheers!

Date Joined: 16/09/17

rod recommendations for a stella 8000HG

Wed, 2020-07-01 01:29

Hi Gambino, personally, I would take the reel to cash converters, make sure it fits a rod, that you like, anything from 15 to 24 Kg, if there asking $50 for it you can generally barter with them, to get the price down a bit, Now if you have a new reel, it possibly has a alloy fraim & Stailess steel screws, you get a chemical reation from them two metals, so take one screw out at a time, dip it in marine grease then screw it back in, I say that as some screws can be different sizes, that way you dont get them mixed up, Yamaha marine grease never drys out & goe hard like some greases, I would never buy a new rod. good luck cheers Don.

Feral's picture

Date Joined: 01/11/06

I'm really not sure that a

Wed, 2020-07-01 11:05

I'm really not sure that a $50 second hand rod is what the OP wants to pair up with his $1000 reel that's a gift from his wife. I also wouldn't recommend that he pulls said reel apart 

Feral's picture

Date Joined: 01/11/06

There are plenty of nice

Wed, 2020-07-01 11:02

There are plenty of nice rods in that range. Oceans legacy jumps to mind if you like a softer rod and might try jigging.shiman have a. Great selection too. Drop into any tackle shop close to you and ha e a chat (no need to buy straight away) but they will grab a reel off the shelf and match it up to what suits you. 

Twitch909's picture

Date Joined: 13/03/18

Shimano Grappler