1kw transducer m260

Hey guys ,

I'm new to fishwrecked and want to know if anyone out there has 1kw in hull tranny . I have a 6.2 Kevlacat and want to shoot to 300m ,will the airmar m260 do the trick in my hull. I have a FCV 582L will i need a booster to run it.

Any feed back would be great 

Wayne

Image Upload: 

Lucky Tim's picture

Date Joined: 28/11/07

I've got the M260 on my

Mon, 2011-05-30 06:08

I've got the M260 on my Furuno 585 and reads 300m easily. Well worth the bucks I reckon. Mine's a  in hull in a mono hull. Can't help with the booster or matching box though. 

Date Joined: 28/03/11

1kw transducer

Mon, 2011-05-30 19:48

Hey Tim

Thanks for the info ,i hope i can hook up my 582l to a 1kw tran or i'll have to buy bigger unit. I want to go wide and get some puka .

Cheers Wayne

NOHA's picture

Date Joined: 24/06/07

582l is only a 600w unit

Mon, 2011-05-30 20:34

You will get an increase in performance based on the phsyical size of the unit having more surface but wont get the power gain. I have 582 on my 650 haines and can read bottom in 300 but not when moving.. Only on the drift.. and not good detail. I can still see bottom in 500 meters, but thats with a 600 watt trani and not thru hull.

As for the 6.2 kevlacat, thats my other boat, and I have just fitted a thru hull to that. Have you had a look in the hull? There is a keel frame that runs central up the pontoon. I had to used a wet box to get my transducer to fit but it is a lot bigger than yours, 3 KW. I had to cut a hole in the deck to fit it. But it works fine. The cat get a lots of turbulance under the pontoons at speed so wont hold a pic when going fast or in rough water. 

Twin turbo..V8 diesel..Ohh what a feeling!!

No Orange Hats Allowed

1 kw tranny

Tue, 2011-05-31 20:53

Hey Noha,

Cheers for your input,

Inside my hull there is that keel frame that runs central up the pontoon but i recon i could fit the m260 in there.